The Victorian Parliament structure has three elements.

  • The Legislative Assembly is the lower house;
  • The Legislative Council is the upper house;
  • The Crown (Queen) represented by the Governor who is advised by the Executive (being the Government Ministers). The Queen has no power and influence in the Victorian Government. The enactment of the Australia Acts 1986 in all states, federally and in the United Kingdom have conferred all powers of the Queen to the Governor. However, the Queen appoints the Governor on advice from the Premier.

Both the lower and upper houses sit at Parliament House in Spring Street, Melbourne.

There are presently 88 members of the Legislative Assembly elected from single-member divisions.

The role of the Member in the Assembly has three major aspects: legislative role, being consideration and creation of laws (introduced as Bills), financial role and an inquiry role.